22/08/2018 - 31/08/2018

@wbsc   #WomensBaseball  

Hosted by:   USA

VIII Women’s Baseball World Cup 2018 - Official Payoff

U-17 Women’s Softball Pan American Championship opens in Barranquilla


The I U-17 Women’s Softball Pan American Championship opened yesterday at Estadio Edgardo Schemel in Barranquilla, Colombia, with 10 participating teams aiming to qualify for the newly created WBSC U-18 Women’s Softball World Cup 2020. The 33 games of the tournament will be live-streamed through the YouTube WBSC Official Channel, and the WBSC official OTT platform Game Time.

The 10 participating nations were drawn into two groups:

Group A: No. 1 USA, No. 5 Mexico, No. 14 Brazil, No. 20 Peru and No. 25 Argentina

Group B: No. 3 Canada, No. 4 Puerto Rico, No. 16 Venezuela, No. 19 Dominican Republic and No. 34 Colombia.

Following a five-day Opening Round, the top three squads from each group will advance to the Super Round, carrying the results between the qualified teams. The top five teams in the final standings will represent the Americas continent in the first-ever U-18 Women’s Softball World Cup in 2020. The final is scheduled for Saturday 19 October, at 6 p.m. local time.