11/09/2020 - 20/09/2020

@wbsc   #WomensBaseball  

Hosted by:   MEX

IX Women’s Baseball World Cup 2020 - Official Payoff

Women’s Baseball Asian Cup opens in China, four teams to qualify for WBSC World Cup


The BFA Women’s Baseball Asian Cup opened at the Panda Memorial Stadium in Zhong Shan, China, with the participation of eight National Teams. The top four nations in the final standings will participate in the WBSC Women’s Baseball World Cup 2020.

The eight teams have been drawn into two groups:

Group A: World No. 1 Japan, No. 13 India, No. 14 Pakistan and China

Group B: No. 3 Chinese Taipei, No. 8 Korea, No. 10 Hong Kong and Philippines

The top two teams in each group will advance to the Super Round, and automatically will earn a spot in next year’s World Cup. After the Super Round, the top two teams will play the Championship Game on Friday, 15 November.

The four qualified nations will join No. 2 Canada, No. 4 USA, No. 5 Venezuela, France and Mexico in the global event. One more team will come from Oceania, while the two final spots will qualify via Wild Card.

Japan has won the last six editions of the World Cup, and currently carry a 30-game World Cup win streak. They have held the No. 1 in the World Rankings since 2010.